Talk

Advanced search

Handy long haul in flight tips please for dd8 (never flown before ). And for two adults who haven't flown in ages

(34 Posts)
sparkysparkysparky Tue 23-Jun-15 16:09:09

I used to be a seasoned traveller (dh not so much ). Not now. I'm a total novice flying long haul with dd and dh. It'll be her first visit to the US and her first flight ever. DH is a bit nervous but has total faith in me. grin
Tell me about online check in, liquid restrictions in flight, api, charging up electronic devices before going. US customs.
Assume I know nothing.
While you're at it, tell me about anything you take to make the flight more comfy.
I was used to roughing it. I have MS now (not too troubling yet but I can't rough it the way I used to).
Many thanks smile

specialsubject Wed 24-Jun-15 09:38:18

the restrictions are liquids, gels and pastes. Details on all the airport websites where they have been for the last 10 years.

in short:
hand luggage: meds, valuables, documents, essentials (subject to LGP restrictions). NO sharps.
hold luggage: no valuables, no fragile items.

take a large empty water bottle through security. Fill it airside.

long haul economy won't be comfortable. Dress in layers, comfy shoes. Entertainment not a problem, seat back TVs.

Pick an aisle seat so you can get up when you like. Don't recline at take off, landing and mealtimes, recline otherwise (ignoring the MN whinging, you'll kill your back if you don't recline)

sparkysparkysparky Wed 24-Jun-15 10:55:43

Thanks, special subject. I assumed the liquid restrictions are all clearly posted. I haven't flown for 10 years so I simply haven't had to deal with it before.

AttilaTheMeerkat Wed 24-Jun-15 13:36:33

Which airline are you travelling with?.

API is the Advance Passenger Information; this should be completed asap (the API is found on the airline's website).

Do not rely on the airline to fully provide re food; take some with you.