Talk

Advanced search

Driving alone from UK to Provence, alone with DC, advice needed

(66 Posts)
lavenderhoney Fri 19-Jun-15 08:09:53

I plan to drive to Provence with the DC ( 8 and 6) and have never attempted such an epic journey. I dont know where to start. I'm going to cheek my car insurance to make sure I'm covered and my breakdown cover. I've driven in France before but always flown. This time, I thought it would be fun to drive.

I don't know whether to get a ferry or tunnel. I plan to stop overnight on the way down, somewhere in France. I saw on another thread about getting an automated thing for the tolls which would be great.

I'm a complete novice and I haven't even thought about how to amuse the DC. im worried about making it down there without too much stress and I am hoping posters who are seasoned drivers across France will have some advice for a rookiesmile

BewitchedBotheredandBewildered Fri 19-Jun-15 08:57:03

My parents used to take me and my brother on that trip at about the same ages. There wasn't as much motorway as now so it took 3 days of driving!

Make sure you speak to your phone provider to get the best deal.

I've got the info about the automatic toll pass somewhere, I'll try to find it.

Not much help, just bumping for you really smile

Good luck, it'll be worth it when you get there.

Bramshott Fri 19-Jun-15 09:01:56

Do the kids have DVD players in the car? Is there a book you could get a CD of that you all like to listen to? Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince got us all the way to the Outer Hebrides at Easter.

As its just you, make sure the kids can reach stuff from their seats - snacks, wipes, water, sick bags(!). Stop as much as you like/need to (the aires make it much easier to stop on French motorways than English ones - almost all have toilets and picnic tables). We find that taking picnic food makes it easier as then you can stop where you like.