Talk

Advanced search

ADVICE NEEDED! First Time Travelling with Baby

(18 Posts)
kg2014 Fri 22-May-15 23:36:17

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on Mum's Net, please bear with me! smile

I am taking my 5 month old DD on a family holiday to Cyprus, and I'm struggling as to what essentials I need? I'll take all the obvious stuff, but is there anything you found helpful on your travels?

Also do I take a suitcase for her or take it in mine & DP?

This is my first baby so all this is very, very new to me!

Thanks all, I look forward to hopefully receiving appreciated advice! smile x

Etak15 Sat 23-May-15 22:13:43

Hi, we went to Cyprus when my oldest was 6 months, I have always packed kids stuff in with ours you usually get an extra 10 kg for infant so just add it in with yours, also you can usually take two baby items for free eg : buggy, car seat or buggy and travel cot etc. ( obviously check this with airline)The main thing I would advise is to minimise your daughters wardrobe for the hols! I think I took every item of clothes my dd owned 'just in case' and she ended up wearing only vests!! Well maybe the odd few pretty dresses! the full body swimsuits are good and maybe a little beach tent if you can squeeze one in for some portable shade! I took nappies from here but you'll find there's nothing that you need for baby that you won't be able to buy there if needed there's even mothercare etc in some towns, obviously depending whereabouts your going if you have a car there etc.

VenusVanDamme Sat 23-May-15 22:19:37

We're just back from holiday with 7 mo DS and key things were:

Full body swimsuits/hat
Microwave sterilising bags
Milk/pouches of food which we collected from boots at the airport after security
Parasol for buggy

I had loads more and packed all his clothes practically but he barely wore any. He slept in vests rather than pjs so they were a waste of time.

rosiegal Sun 24-May-15 21:39:35