Talk

Advanced search

Solo spa break recommendations please!

(11 Posts)
EthelCardew Fri 06-Feb-15 17:42:06

My lovely husband has suggested I take a 1 or 2 night spa break to chill out for a bit and, being a spa virgin, I don't really know what the best option is for maximum relaxation. I mainly want to read, have a lie-in shock, wander the gardens, gym, swim, steam, body treatment and massage.

So, fancy hotel with spa attached? Champneys or other dedicated spa? Cheaper hotel and day visit to a nearby spa? I have no experience and no clue what would work best.

I'm in Gloucestershire and don't really want to travel too far, it will just stress me out on the way back! Although taking the train might be a less stressful option. I'm considering Bath/Cotswolds/Oxford/Wiltshire/Somerset areas and have had a look at Dormy House Hotel, Macdonalds Bath Spa, Bannatyne Charlton House, Cotswold House but I'm being bloody indecisive.

What I certainly don't want is a noisy hen party venue or ultra modern decor as I really don't find that relaxing.

Any recommendations for plans and places? Is Champneys worth the 2 hour drive?

OP’s posts: |
VegasIsBest Sat 07-Feb-15 07:15:49

I think champneys would be a very easy place to be on your own rather than a hotel. But that depends on how confident you feel on your own.

Andcake Sat 07-Feb-15 07:35:47

I would prefer a proper spa to hotel on my own. Maybe a bit far but I had a lovely few days alone at the wonderful ragdale hall. What was nice is that if I wanted a bit of company or to do something in the evening other than read I had options. Eg they have little talks or films on a bigger screen than a telly and at any meal if you want you can join a table of other ladies on their own. Maybe sounds a bit naff but for lunch it was nice to have a chatgrin

EthelCardew Sat 07-Feb-15 08:18:49

Being on my own is what it's all about VegasIsBest! But I see what you mean.