Talk

Advanced search

Whats the best way to drive to Brittany?

(13 Posts)
Up2nogood Wed 07-Jan-15 22:17:01

Hoping to get a holiday in the Summer, thinking Brittany is a good option. Seen some ideal accommodation that won't break the bank and can have the car without the expense of hiring.

DC will be 3.5 and 1.5yo. We will be travelling from the North West.

Never been to France before, apart from Disneyland as a child as a very large group. So no experience of doing the drive, crossing the channel etc.

How do i get there? I can see from looking so far that i can either get there by Ferry or Drive the Tunnel. Ferry costs look to be about £300 and the Tunnel £135. (but i've not account for any extras for either option as being a novice I've not idea what they'll be!!!).

Google tells me the pro for Ferry is speed. The pro for Tunnel is cost.

What else do i need to think about?

I guess we would attempt to do as much of the journey as possible at night while the kids sleep, especially if driving. But obviously don't want to be too knocked wince we are there.

Totally lost in where to start really so any help / advice appreciated! grin

3catsandcounting Wed 07-Jan-15 23:10:37

Bumping this, as we're thinking of the same trip, from the NW too!wink

EdithWeston Wed 07-Jan-15 23:17:12

It depends on where you're going in Brittany. It's a long drive from Paris and the N12 can get spectacular traffic jams if you're unlucky.

If your destination is near a ferry port, then that's what I'd choose. You get to rest on your crossing, whichever means, but after one long drive down from the north of England, having less on arrival was worth it to me.

Diamondring Wed 07-Jan-15 23:18:36

If you can afford it, ferry. It starts off the holiday instead of being a slog.

Delphine31 Wed 07-Jan-15 23:24:29