Talk

Advanced search

Getting to Heathrow Christmas eve with limited time!

(9 Posts)
JellyRyan123 Wed 19-Nov-14 13:44:49

I need some help! I am a nurse working in north west london (hampstead), originally from dublin, hoping to make it home this christmas eve to visit my family. The problem is, I;m working until 5ish christmas eve and have booked a flight for 1945 that evening. Am I totally stupid or will I make it?? I'm trying to figure out best way to get to Heathrow? Taxi? Tubes? I am so stressed thinking about this as it is my first christmas in London I don't know what to expect!!! If anyone can shed some light that would be amazing!

mellicauli Wed 19-Nov-14 14:02:12

Have a look at the transport for london site. Some transport shuts down quite early on Christmas Eve. I would keep checking the website until TFL make an announcement about arrangements for Xmas eve. It says it usually takes an hour to get from Hampstead to Heathrow via tube and the Heathrow Express so if services are running you should be OK. if not, you've plenty of time for a taxi (although you'd have to book well in advance and prepare to pay through the nose..)

JellyRyan123 Wed 19-Nov-14 14:05:38

Ok so you reckon traffic wouldn't be a nightmare? That's my worry to be honest, I just want to get to the airport and worry about tackling security!! The tubes run until Sunday hours christmas eve, but the express train stops at 4pm! So that would be out of the question.. I would hate to book a taxi and then be stuck in traffic!

AttilaTheMeerkat Wed 19-Nov-14 14:06:16

Any chance at all of finishing your shift earlier; say 3.00pm?.

I doubt very much whether you will make it to Heathrow in time if you go by either taxi (that will certainly cost a fair bit) or by tube (which will involve a change of trains at Kings Cross from the Northern Line onto the Piccadilly line) and also you're going to have to be at Heathrow at least 90 minutes before also to clear security as well.