Talk

Advanced search

Anyone know if you can travel within Europe on a Birth Certificate instead of a passport

(28 Posts)
dizzydo Tue 07-Feb-06 13:00:46

Just had the opportunity of sending my two dd's away for half term with my sister but one of them is still on my passport and because it will be a first passport I cannot get one issued on a same day basis. The passport office suggested contacting the airline and asking if a Birth Certificate could be used instead as because it is within Europe that should be OK.

I have just spent a fortune on easyjet's website going around and around their menu options where they just keep you in a loop getting nowhere and there is nothing I can find on the website that lets me email a question.

Can anyone help me please?

Blandmum Tue 07-Feb-06 13:03:23

I don't think that they would let you back in the UK. I know that they check your passpost when you leave and enter the UK on the cahnnel tunnel.

Note, I am not a lawyer

ladymuck Tue 07-Feb-06 13:03:26

I believe that airlines are pretty strict about needing photo id, so I wouldn't expect a birth certificate to be enough.

Hausfrau Tue 07-Feb-06 13:04:37

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

northerner Tue 07-Feb-06 13:04:48

Don't think so. Passport required for all flights except domestic when photo ID is sufficient.

janinlondon Tue 07-Feb-06 13:08:31

No. A birth certificate doesn't prove nationality.

milward Tue 07-Feb-06 13:08:32

You'll need a passport. As I understand you can't travel with a birth certficate in europe as there's no photo id. There are ID cards that can be used to travel in europe - but airlines require a passport in anycase. I'd call the passport office for their advice.

ladymuck Tue 07-Feb-06 13:09:29

See here . You can go to the Czech Republic!

LIZS Tue 07-Feb-06 13:15:32