Talk

Advanced search

Love CenterParcs but is there is a cheaper alternative?

(19 Posts)
bellatrixrocks Tue 27-Sep-11 12:29:23

Just got back from Centerparcs Elveden and loved loved loved it!!!

It was perfect! My parents, dh and dd (almost 2) all had a fab time

but... it is soooo expensive in the school hols

I'm a teacher so can't get time off in term time

can anyone recommend a lovely holiday for easter or summer next year for a lively 2 year old?

I'm thinking haven or butlins - or the european equivalent to centerparcs

rookiemater Tue 27-Sep-11 21:03:44

Which things did you enjoy about it? Was it the swimming pool and activities or was it the forest setting?

If its the countryside you like then could recommend these lodges www.forestholidays.co.uk/cabins.aspx lovely surroundings and walks and outdoor activities no pool though.

I have been Haven and I couldn't honestly recommend it, caravans were nice but loads of gambling machines everywhere, play areas not well tended, blaring music all the while whilst we were in the pool.

I like these caravan parks http www.slholidays.co.uk because we love the lake district , or if you want to go abroad www.lepavillondestagnan.com/Engels/index_e.html we took DS here when he was about 3 and he loved it outdoor pool, twice weekly pony rides, outdoor play area and lovely french food.

onepieceofcremeegg Tue 27-Sep-11 21:06:13

bella I am in the Midlands and our Easter holiday is "late" compared to other areas so we got a good deal at CP for next Easter. Have a try with all your holiday dates i.e. put them on the CP website in case you strike lucky as well?

Otherwise I haven't got any recommendations, other than Haven and Pontins and Butlins are NOT the same. Don't go to any of those thinking they might be. (that's not a criticism of them, just they are not an alternative to CP imo)

bellatrixrocks Tue 27-Sep-11 21:14:15

Thanks rookie & onepiece!