Talk

Advanced search

Long Haul with a 16 month old - will take any advice I can get!

(5 Posts)
MoMusicMum Fri 29-Jul-11 21:39:12

Hello! I'm totally new to mumsnet, so forgive me if I'm too long-winded or doing something wrong! I'm desperate for some advice!

I'm travelling to Pittsburgh on Thursday with my 16 month old DS. Lucky for me he's just hit the tantrum age, so I'm feeling really uneasy about this long journey and keeping him sat on my lap and entertained the whole time. Unfortunately my DH can't come this time, so it's me all on my own!

Basically, I'm prepared with snacks, meds, and DVDs (although I'll take any advice on these as well)! But I'm wondering if anyone can suggest any good toys that he can't scatter all over the place, but will keep him interested for a long time.

ATM he loves lego, and simply playing in a bucket of water, or a patch of dirt - when he's doing these his focus is incredible for long periods - but for obvious reasons I won't be taking any of these on the plane!

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Gastonladybird Fri 29-Jul-11 21:48:38

Do you have an iPad/iPhone as these are great for games? Mickey mouse clubhouse, telly tubbies and waybiloo were popular (If you have a lap top and he likes cbeebies you can download shows from
Iplayer - 64 zoo lane. 3rd and bird small potatoes and anything with Justin in like something special).

Also any cheap toys you can store up on (charity shop,pound shop) as a plastic car or something can be brought out to bribe .

Can you feed/ cuddle him down for a nap- dd slept quite a lot.

There is likely to be in flight entertainment and usually something good.

Oh and chocolate buttons/loads of milk. Took dd to hong kong and to south Africa at around this age and was fine .

Graciescotland Fri 29-Jul-11 22:05:47