Talk

Advanced search

Recommendations for Menorca.

(15 Posts)
MarioandLuigi Mon 09-May-11 17:25:00

I have never been to Menorca before, and am looking to book for summer 2012.

Can anyone recommend nice areas/resorts? I like it when there are quite a few things to do but dont like places that are really popular and heaving.

Also, anyone got any idea of the temp in the summer. Is it similar to Majorca where we have been before.

MissFenella Mon 09-May-11 17:32:05

I don't think there is a 'bad' resort on Menorca. I like the Cituadela side (West) but I think the south and east have lots of family friendly resorts. Just around Mahon is popular with my friends and their 7 year old.

diabolo Mon 09-May-11 19:03:46

It is very hot in the Summer - July / Aug can be around 35 degrees, but usually on Menorca, there is a breeze, so you don't always feel the heat.

I've been visiting for many years. I would recommend the following, not in any particular order:

Son Bou - lovely long beach, watersports if you want, but a five minute walk up the beach and it's almost deserted (bliss), enough to do on an evening, but not too busy, pretty, got a small water park.

Arenal d'en Castell - really beautiful horseshoe beach, nice restaurants and bars , some evening entertainment. Scenic.

Santo Tomas - beach, bars, entertainment, but a fairly small resort

Punta Prima - white sand beach, a few restaurants and bars, fairly quiet.

Cala Galdana - the queen of coves apparently, very popular with lots of people but too busy for me.

Playa des Fornells a couple of km away from the gorgeous fishing town of Fornells, but has a beach, basically privately owned holiday accomodation with a few restaurants. Pretty. (Look on Owners Direct if you fancy this place)

Most of the resorts near Ciutadella don't have beaches, but are fairly busy, apart from Cala'n Bosch which has a beach and a marina, but it is a bit English, (for me) ditto Cala'n Porter.