Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Leaving children to go on holiday, do you do it and how?

(31 Posts)
LDNmummy Sun 13-Feb-11 13:58:51

I am sure this question has been asked before but as a new mum to be, I have no experience so please let me know your opinion and advice.

My DP and I are now expecting our first and thrilled. But we are a young couple and have not done all the things we would like to do in terms of travelling to other countries. We have a lot of places in mind to visit, such as Japan, Brazil, New York, Mdagascar, Russia and so on. The kind of trips we have in mind are not always going to be family friendly and are also the kind of trips you spend about two weeks minimum on. I spoke to my partner about this and he said we could leave our DC with his mother, I have no problem with this as I love her to bits and I know the LO would be in the best care possible. But, I also wonder if I would feel ok leaving my MIL to look after the LO for 2 weeks as it is a long time and what I feel to be an imposition. We wouldn't do thhis till the baby was 2 or older but is it a good idea? Have any of you got this arrangement with grandparents?

In short, what do other people do when they want to go on a holiday but without the children? I don't think it is bad to leave the children at home as long as you take them somewhere later too and that they are with close family members who are responsible.

exexpat Sun 13-Feb-11 14:11:31

I take them with me. My DCs were born in Japan and have been to China, Australia, US, Canada and lots of Europe. I wouldn't have taken them back-packing around south-east Asia when they were toddlers, but I know people who have. Children can be very adaptable, if you start them on travelling and changes in diet/routines when they are little. Now mine are older, the options are broadening - you can get child-price interrail tickets, so we're thinking about that....