Talk

Advanced search

Have digital cameras improved immeasurably over the past 6/7 years?

(8 Posts)
ScummyMummy Mon 09-Nov-09 22:08:49

We've got a new baby and are taking lots and lots of photos at the moment. We are using a canon ixus 50, which we got about 6 years ago and is now discontinued, and though some of the photos are really fab, there are quite a lot of duds too. The light is often a bit odd and red eye is fairly endemic to the inside shots. When I go to photobox to get prints they rarely identify the quality of the pictures as better than medium. This could well be because I'm not very good at taking photos but could I do better with a newer camera, do you think? Have they come on a lot recently? Clearly the mega-pixel numbers are far higher these days- does this really make a big difference? Have there been other developments and would these help a very average photographer who'd like her photos to be as good as they possibly can be despite her limitations as a camerawoman?

BertieBotts Mon 09-Nov-09 22:20:36

Megapixel number means how many pixels there are per inch of photo if you print it out - you only need about 3 or 4 megapixels for printing out at normal photo size but if you want to print the photos out bigger or crop them before printing then something like 8 megapixels+ is better. However cameras with a high megapixel rating will take huge (ie file size not physical size) pictures which take up loads of space on memory cards/computer etc and will be impossible to send by email etc.