Talk

Advanced search

textpad? notepad? trying/learning to write HTML for own website, which text editor should I use?

(8 Posts)
MyCatIsABiggerBastardThanYours Tue 15-Sep-09 20:04:47

Setting up a website and want to do it myself (not use templates provided by others). 1) because I like to learn new things 2) because cannot find a template to do what I want it to 3) because I don't want to pay someone else to amend my own web pages for me (to customise them).

I know I need to use a text editor of somesort to write the HTML but when I use notepad on Windows I don't seem to be able to save the file as .html

What am I doing wrong? Should I not use notepad? What text editor should I use and where can I get a free download for it?

(Be gentle if I've said something really stupid - complete novice here)

MyCatIsABiggerBastardThanYours Tue 15-Sep-09 21:40:38

Anyone?

MrCSWS Tue 15-Sep-09 23:25:58

you should be able to save as .html (they are only text files anyway) but you might have to surround the name with " (double quotes) to achieve this.

notepad is quite limited though - there are lots of good editore around (some free, some relatively cheap). i am a user of ultraedit which is not free but i find great - it is worth a download to see if you would get one with a more advanced editor.

ClaraDeLaNoche Tue 15-Sep-09 23:28:34

I use Wise FTP Version 5, I think it's still free, the next version up you have to pay for.

WebDude Tue 15-Sep-09 23:49:47

I use EditPad lite (which can handle lots of open text files, making it easy to cut and paste bits from one to another)

As far as HTML specific editors, I cannot think of any that I've used enough to keep using.

Trying to remember what I used on Windows 98 or 95, as I first got doing websites in the mid-90s...

Possibly worth a visit to Free Download A Day as there may be a freebie (also worth visiting for people with Mac and Linux OS, there is free software for everyone given a mention there)