Talk

Advanced search

facebook and pictures of your children....

(11 Posts)
lilolilmanchester Tue 06-Jan-09 14:03:51

... following on from a related thread... I am new to facebook, and would happily post pictures of my children if I thought only my facebook friends could see them. Is this the case?? OR do I need to do something in particular to restrict viewing of pictures to my friends?

suiz Tue 06-Jan-09 14:07:34

I've recently cottoned on that I could, if I wanted to, view complete stranger's profiles and pics and private lives, because they're a friend's friend's friend. But there again, maybe it's their settings, but maybe not. I don't know WTH they are.

SheSellsSeashellsByTheSeashore Tue 06-Jan-09 14:08:47

You can set your profile to private and then only people on your friends list can see them

Amapoleon Tue 06-Jan-09 14:08:51

It depends on your settings. I set mine to friends only.

lilolilmanchester Tue 06-Jan-09 14:09:58

thanks, will take a look....

PortAndLemon Tue 06-Jan-09 14:12:33

Edit Album -> Edit Info -> Privacy

You can set to "Only friends", or set to just specific friends, or exclude specific friends.

PortAndLemon Tue 06-Jan-09 14:13:16

(that's for photos specifically)

babyOcho Tue 06-Jan-09 14:14:11

The privacy settings on my DD's photos on facebook are set to friends only. However, I know that you dont even need to be logged onto FB to see the photos if you know the URL - it even gives you the link at the bottom of the page!

If you are worried or dont want people you dont know looking at photos of your DC, I wouldnt put them on FB. Use something like flickr, or even one of the photo ordering sites (eg photobox) and share out your pics from there.

HTH

Hulababy Tue 06-Jan-09 14:25:31

I have the settings on DD's photos set to friends only, so other people can't see access them.

Think there are three settings available:

* friend sonly
* friends and friends of friends
* everyone

PortAndLemon Tue 06-Jan-09 14:27:30