Talk

Advanced search

Will I get better wifi reach if I swap my freebie talktalk router for an Apple airport Extreme base station?

(11 Posts)
RoobyMurray Sat 20-Oct-12 10:26:40

I've asked for help here before and kind of ended up thinking we need wired internet to some rooms, but before we send my FIL under the house with a wire, here goes...

Current set up:
freebie TalkTalk wifi router thingy (EchoLife HG520s) in living room. Fine.

Separate Apple Time Capsule in the back of the house (on a separate network). Can log onto this in the playroom and sometimes in the kitchen. Sometimes.

One Apple Airport Express in the hall to boost the signal to the dining room, but this comes and goes.

I really need to be able to get internet in the dining room for when I'm studying, but it is driving me mad switching between the two networks all the time because neither of them reach that room consistently. And then sometimes I can't get on either of them. GAH.

So, can I upgrade my wifi router to get, erm, a stronger signal?? I have no idea how to find out about how strong a signal a router can give. What do I look for?

TIA you lovely clever MNers smile

RoobyMurray Sat 20-Oct-12 21:50:12

Bump...

Mibby Sat 20-Oct-12 21:54:36

DH is good with tech. He also works for Apple. He says you would get the best, most consistant internet if you hard wire it.

RoobyMurray Sun 21-Oct-12 08:14:07

Thank you mibby, I suspected as much.

KenDoddsDadsDog Sun 21-Oct-12 08:18:34

Have a look at BT Home Hub 3 , currently one of the best on the market. But it would all depend on price / speed for you as to whether it was worth it.

RoobyMurray Sun 21-Oct-12 08:50:41

Ken, do you know what I would look for to compare it with what I've got? Like what's the unit measurement for signal strength?

KenDoddsDadsDog Sun 21-Oct-12 11:00:14