Talk

Advanced search

Help me focus my search for a new laptop.

(16 Posts)
HauntedLittleLunatic Thu 11-Aug-11 22:15:26

How would you rank the following brands..in general...looking on teh Tesco website and there are what seem to be some FAB deals - eg. direct.tesco.com/q/R.211-8727.aspx for £250!...and it seems like a reasonable spec to me.

I am just looking for something which will be the workhorse for my PGCE next year...so writing documents, more documents and more documents with a bit of surfing. No fancy high powered gaming or anything. Just looking for value for money and longevity. So how would you rate the following brands?

Dell
Compaq/HP
Samsung
Acer
Toshiba
eMachines

I need somewhere to focus my search on what are otherwise similar spec machines? If you could choose one which brand would stand out for you?

lazydog Fri 12-Aug-11 01:46:48

I repair PCs for a living and I buy Dells for myself, as a compromise between reliability (ok) and cost for decent spec (excellent) but out of the list you've given, if they really are all similar price/specs, Toshiba is actually tthe most reliable. That's not just my opinion - it's backed up by whatever company it is (sorry, memory is fried after a long day, LOL!) that provides most of the extended warranties on laptops, and they state that Toshiba customers actually need to claim less often than other laptop brands' purchasers, if you see what I mean?

lazydog Fri 12-Aug-11 01:49:13

Of the ones you listed, that is... If I recall correctly, the Mac laptops rated higher for reliabilty, as did Lenovo, but Toshiba were best of the more mainstream brands.

MindyMacready Fri 12-Aug-11 02:07:07

Add Lenovo (ex IBM) to your list & take off eMachines & at top end Sony.

Dell - usually good value, watch delivery costs.
HP - Business
Samsung - Meh!
Acer - Value for money
Toshiba - Once highly reputable, not so much now - mid table

HauntedLittleLunatic Fri 12-Aug-11 09:08:47