Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Difficult weed to iradicate

(10 Posts)
Ulysees Fri 17-Jun-05 21:34:26

I have this weed in my front garden that insists on coming back even though I've had the garden landscaped so that it's covered in a membrane and rocks/pebbles/slate. It was a nightmare when we had a lawn but I thought it'd go? It's popping up all over the place again. It's spikey with long stems. Does anyone have any ideas on how to rid or do I just have to put up with it?

KatyMac Fri 17-Jun-05 21:43:55

Is it sticky - it might be sticky willow (but I don't know how to get rid of it)

tiddlypom Sat 18-Jun-05 22:49:17

is it horsetail, sometimes known as marestail, latin name something like epiphytum? If you can identify it, someone might know how to deal with it. I have extensive experience of horsetail, sadly, and could tell you what I've read about it, and what I'm still trying.

marthamoo Sat 18-Jun-05 22:55:56

Don't know whether to add to this thread or start my own...oh what the hell.

Buttercups! Always thought they were an innocuous and pretty little weed 'til they set up residence Big Time in my flowerbeds. Have been digging them out today but they have persistent roots and are tangled up in everything. Never had them before and we've lived here 4 years. Are they just going to keep coming back?

suedonim Sun 19-Jun-05 00:06:20

They are difficult to get rid of, Marthamoo. Any bit of stem left in the ground seems to develop into a new plant. But if you're persistant you'll get rid of it eventually. I had a lot of buttercup in two beds but it seems to have given up the ghost as I can't recall seeing it this year or last.

marthamoo Sun 19-Jun-05 07:44:51

Thanks, suedonim - I'll keep digging away at it. I don't think I was particularly thorough yesterday as it was sooooo hot (I'm a fair weather gardener so when the sun comes out there's a lot to do!)

Ulysees Mon 20-Jun-05 11:52:38