Talk

Advanced search

Total novice needs some help please with when to plant/sow things.

(6 Posts)
navyeyelasH Sun 31-May-09 18:13:13

Heya I know absoultely nothing about gardens, mainly because I have never had one! I've just bought my first home and with it comes quite a big garden. So far my DPs mother has been a great help and has tidied it up for us but now we have lots of blank spaces. I have some time off over the next 2 weeks and would really like to put part of the garden together.

I want to make a little part of the garden into a sensory garden and have found a great website that gives a list of plants and the senses they relate to.

I can easily pick out the plants that I like the look of, but how do I know when they will need planting? Also can any plant go in a plany pot or only certain ones? Also can you buy plants as plants (ie I got some pansies today which look great) or do most come as seeds?

For eg the plants I like the look of are gay feather, lamb ears and bamboo amongst others. But I can't really move forward as I can't find out when these things need to have been planted. blush

Any help very much appreciated.

nosleeptilbedtime Sun 31-May-09 21:39:33

Hiya,
bamboo can be bought from garden centre quite big, B and Q have it as well for around £20 for a big plant. It is great and really easy as it will pretty much grow anywhere. I got three big ones for my garden and I love them. You are ok to plant them right now, just dig a big hole and add some compost.

dont know about the other plants you mentioned, why not get a big pack of wildflower seeds? Its not too late to plant seeds now straight into the ground.

Have a look at this website for great gardening advice www.gardenersworld.com/what-to-do-now/

Enjoy your garden!

nosleeptilbedtime Sun 31-May-09 21:42:42

also lavendar would be great for a sensory garden as it smells good and it's beautiful too, how about some ferns as well. smile

navyeyelasH Sun 31-May-09 22:59:49