Talk

Advanced search

I plan to grow my own veg this year...complete novice though

(20 Posts)
Spiderplant Fri 02-Jan-09 09:26:07

Can anyone help me out at all? I'd like to grow potatoes, lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes.
I don't have a particularly big garden so they will be all grown in planters or large tubs.
I hope to get a small plastic greenhouse type thing for the tomatoes.

When do I need to start planting? and is there anything important I should know?

Thanks

DECKmuppetWITHBOUGHSOFHOLLY Fri 02-Jan-09 09:26:59

ooo, intersting. I'd like to grow in tunbs so can I join in?????

Spiderplant Fri 02-Jan-09 09:30:47

Of course smile we can swop tips!

DECKmuppetWITHBOUGHSOFHOLLY Fri 02-Jan-09 09:31:56

I'd like to grow carrots, potaotes, beetroots, tomatoes (we did last year and ds was amazed!) courgettes (did last year) I have the length of my house that gets sun most of the day that I can line tubs up against (Can't use the garden as it's very small and the dogs do nasty things in it!

DECKmuppetWITHBOUGHSOFHOLLY Fri 02-Jan-09 09:34:03

something like this

www.hellenicgarden.co.uk/planter-barrel.html but MUCH cheaper! Then I can get the depth I need -they do various sizes as these do look a little massive!

Spiderplant Fri 02-Jan-09 09:36:00

Oh they look ideal. That's the sort of thing I was thinking of.
I was going to ask around...maybe on freecycle or somewhere to see if anyone had any going spare. They are quite expensive new aren't they.

DECKmuppetWITHBOUGHSOFHOLLY Fri 02-Jan-09 09:37:20

I like this as then I can lie them up more easily and they are like raised growbags. We used growbags last year and they did the job but looked awful!

Right, am off to research when to plant seeds...see you soon

DECKmuppetWITHBOUGHSOFHOLLY Fri 02-Jan-09 09:40:26

found this and it says you can plant potatoes from Feb...

DECKmuppetWITHBOUGHSOFHOLLY Fri 02-Jan-09 09:43:12

this seems good to tell you how many plants you need and it is for growing veg in tubs...