Talk

Advanced search

Corgettes - how to maintain them and other questions

(9 Posts)
mistersmum Sun 03-Aug-08 20:01:54

This is my first year with any veg and I am doing quite well with the corgettes. DS loves running out in the morning to see how much they have grown.
But I have a couple of questions;
1) Do some flowers not produce fruit as I get quite a few with no corgette on the bottom?
2) Should I remove the lower leaves as the crown matures or just leave on?
3) Do they turn in to marrows if you just leave them?blush
4) Are corgette flowers really good to eat or not? Any recipes if 'yes' please.
5) Any more corgette recipes as I am sick of ratatouille!!
Thanks in advance

misi Sun 03-Aug-08 20:50:21

I have courgettes this year, many flowers don't grow into fruit, I think its because there are so few bees around this year. half the courgettes that start to grow go mouldy as well, I have 10 plants and had just 10 courgettes so far.
I roast mine with honey amongst othe rways, in stews, steamed, and I love them as part of a kebab also lightly seared on the same hotplate/griddle as a staek for a few mins. they can grow into marrows if left, my grandad always left one on each plant to grow big, but then he used to have around 50 plants on his old allottment each year!

can;'t say much more than that, experiementing/learning myself this year, but I am disappointed compared with what my grandad used to get. (my runner beans are not so good this year either, twice as many plants as last year but had half the beans so far, again, hardly any bees around and banging the tops of the canes they grow on hasn't worked very well.

lucyellensmum Sun 03-Aug-08 21:25:19