Talk

Advanced search

Plants that flower at the same time, or different?

(7 Posts)
Kismett Sat 10-Feb-18 22:07:15

Total beginner here, hope that’s okay! I was looking at things to plant and thought it might be nice to plant some clematis along a wall. If I’m planting multiple in the same area, do I want them to be the same plant (for pruning and such)? Or should I be planting different varieties of clematis so that some bloom earlier and some later for continued interest?

No clue if planting clematis is a good idea at all, but the question stands for anything that we end up planting.

parietal Sat 10-Feb-18 22:17:51

I prefer to plant lots of the same, but it depends on the result you want.

for clematis, there are 2 main types:
Type 1 (e.g Montana) flowers early in the year, you don't prune it much and it can grow VERY big.
Type 3 flowers later in the year and you prune it down to 2ft about ground level every spring so it never gets too big. It will take a couple of years to establish & produce lots of flowers but they are lovely.
The label in the garden centre should always tell you which type.

I'd always go for a type 3 clematis because unless you have an ENORMOUS garden, a type 1 can easily get too big & drown everything else you want to grow.

The RHS website has a very good 'plant selector' tool where you can enter in what kind of space you have and what you want (e.g. south facing wall, want autumn flowers, max height 2m) and it will tell you want plants match those criteria and where to buy them.

www.rhs.org.uk/Plants/Search-Results?form-mode=true

Kismett Sat 10-Feb-18 22:30:11

Thank you! I got the idea from looking around on the RHS site, it’s fantastic! It’s a new house so I don’t have a good handle on what the sun will be like the rest of the year. I’m assuming fairly gloomy as we have a small, north facing garden. But recently the sun has appeared a bit more, so unsure.