Talk

Advanced search

Tall, self supporting, hardy perennials

(20 Posts)
WellTidy Wed 31-May-17 15:19:23

I am trying to give my borders some interest by adding a bit of height. I've bought lots of salvias, which I adore. So I am looking for things that are similar really. I am a novice, so want easy things that are as long flowering as possible, ideally don't need staking, are hardy (as I am on a budget) and are only white, pink or purple. So far my ideas are silene, delphinium and agapanthus which tick some but not all boxes!

I will be planting nerine bowdenii, lupin and allium bulbs for next year, but wondered what I could buy for this year.

NotMyPenguin Wed 31-May-17 15:24:39

Not really a gardener, but having read your subject line I now totally aspire to be a tall, self-supporting, hardy perennial!

Wecks Wed 31-May-17 15:30:17

Penstemons, Iris, Thalictrum.

daisygirlmac Wed 31-May-17 15:36:44

You'll probably need to stake delphiniums. Another vote here for iris they are lovely. A peony?

GingerKitCat Wed 31-May-17 15:44:55

Do foxgloves count? Hollyhocks?

GingerKitCat Wed 31-May-17 15:52:58

Japanese anemone (good for shade), veronica

EndInjustice Wed 31-May-17 18:08:43

If you don't want to stake, look at native plants which have to hold their own such as the already mentioned foxgloves, eupatorium, agrimony, oenothera, columbine, campanula, angelica, epilobium, lythrum, centranthus, valerian, and so on.

Trethew Wed 31-May-17 20:16:06

Eupatorium, especially Riesenschirm (spelling?)
Filipendula rubra venusta
Persicaria polymorpha
Persicaria orientalis (annual)
Verbena bonariensis
Cosmos Purity (annual)
Crambe cordifolia

.... will all exceed 3-4 ft

Wilma55 Wed 31-May-17 20:17:47

Verbena

aircooled Wed 31-May-17 22:19:50

Cephalaria gigantea, giant yellow scabious. 6ft and no staking required. Bees love it. They also love white globe thistle, Echinops sphaerocephalus.

arbrighton Thu 01-Jun-17 11:16:01

Verbena bonariensis
Hollyhocks
Foxglove