We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

What killed my tomato plant? 🌱

(19 Posts)
Crunchyside Sat 22-Apr-17 20:46:29

I planted 3 tomato plants in a raised bed and one of them has mysteriously died... it was okay a few days ago! In fact it was thriving the best out of the three and already had flowers. Is it disease or cold or what? Anyone got any ideas?!

Added a picture of its healthy sibling for comparison!

(This is like a gardening murder mystery...)

DaffodilTime Sat 22-Apr-17 20:48:46

I love the murder mystery thing!!

Have they had the same amount of water? I'm not experienced and no help at all really. Mine all look very slightly unhappy and I can't decide if I water too much or not enough but it's very complicated if there are other factors too grin

TheCountessofFitzdotterel Sat 22-Apr-17 20:48:56

Cold, probably. Mine aren't going out for another 3 weeks or so. Unless you're somewhere warm? And is there any reason the one that died was more exposed than the other?

TroysMammy Sat 22-Apr-17 20:49:36

Are they outside? The nights are pretty cold and tomatoes like warmth

averylongtimeago Sat 22-Apr-17 20:51:16

Looks like frost damage to me.

BarchesterFlowers Sat 22-Apr-17 20:52:20

Yes it will be cold. I have just been outside to light my greenhouse heaters. Hard frosts forecast here next week in the North of England.

Lalunya85 Sat 22-Apr-17 20:53:05

I still bring mine in for the night. The first time I took them out from their sheltered indoor spot their leaves looked a bit like yours in the "dead" picture. After a few days, the old leaves still look like that but there are new ones emerging which will probably more weather hardy.

Did you harden them before planting out?

I'd cover a y remaining plants with fleece for the next few weeks.