Talk

Advanced search

Complete novice - what would thrive in these raised beds?

(10 Posts)
SnowBodyforrrrm Mon 17-Apr-17 23:10:49

I'm having my garden done in the next few weeks. We are digging down the grass area as it's currently over a meter higher then our patio, due to this we will need to put retaining walls around the side and along the back. I've decided I'd like to make a feature of the walls by making them into raised beds so they'll be functional but pretty.

The pic is of a similar thing to what I'll end up with, my garden is relatively small and I'm trying to maximise the grass area for the kids to play on, therefore I won't have the room to make the beds particularly wide.

I'm looking for ideas for what I can plant that will do well in a narrow area and not cause damage to the structure of the wall. I'd like year round plants/shrubs and maybe even bay/olive trees as well as flowers. Our garden is south facing so gets the sun pretty much all day but as I say it's small.

Any suggestions would be gratefully received!

SnowBodyforrrrm Tue 18-Apr-17 14:17:32

Bumping 🌲

JT05 Tue 18-Apr-17 16:31:32

How about some climbers for height, clematis, winter and summer jasmine or climbing hydrangea. In front you could plant hebes, which have colour all year round and come in a variety of heights.
And, of course, my go to recommendation, Cranesbill geraniums in their wide variety.

taytopotato Wed 19-Apr-17 08:59:23

Just hijacking your thread, where did you get your garden shed?

fiorentina Wed 19-Apr-17 14:38:57

I totally agree with the recommendations above. Was going to say evergreen climbers such as trachleospernum or evergreen hydrangeas. Winter box is a good evergreen and smells lovely around Xmas or there are some small hebes that look lovely.

SnowBodyforrrrm Wed 19-Apr-17 22:50:05

Thanks for the helpful suggestions, I'll take a look at those options now! I love the idea of adding herbs to the beds.