Talk

Advanced search

lawn on top of concrete?

(41 Posts)
Ifailed Fri 17-Mar-17 06:32:51

I've moved to a new house this year, and have started work on the garden. I knew it would be a struggle, it was mostly decking with the last third covered in astroturf. Having removed two rotting sheds and most of the decking, I've now discovered why the astroturf was there, about 3 inches down is a thick slab of concrete that seems to impenetrable to any tool I have, including a heavy metal rod that I used to make quick work of a pathway.

I'm thinking of laying turf on top of a layer of good topsoil over the concrete, at least for this year. Will it survive with feeding - has anyone else experienced something similar?

ProfYaffle Fri 17-Mar-17 06:38:42

I'm no expert on lawn care but I think it would be difficult. We have an old well in our garden which is capped with a thick concrete layer, the grass over it always suffers in the summer and dries out really badly. Drainage in the winter might also be a problem.

TwoLeftSocks Fri 17-Mar-17 06:38:52

I think you will struggle with drainage and then drying out in the summer. Can you get a builder in with a jackhammer?

Ifailed Fri 17-Mar-17 06:41:29

Hadn't thought about drainage - maybe if I burnt out my drill I could make a few holes?

Lunaballoon Fri 17-Mar-17 06:41:47

It wouldn't work. You'd need to remove the concrete first. sad

JeNeSuisPasVotreMiel Fri 17-Mar-17 06:52:44

Don't. It will die. And you will end up with an awful mess to clear up.

What do you have against artificial turf? Properly laid (on sand, not soil) the new types are very realistic.

Ifailed Fri 17-Mar-17 06:59:48

What do you have against artificial turf?

Just that, the fact it's artificial and always looks either too good to be true, or rather naff after a few years.

MattBerrysHair Fri 17-Mar-17 07:02:07