New house, garden is bare, what to plant and when?

(6 Posts)
pimmsperfecto Tue 30-Aug-16 04:02:00

We have just bought a Georgian town house which has a 40 feet garden at the back, laid to lawn but with virtually nothing else. Also, at the rear of the garden the houses behind (modern and not very pretty) can be seen. The neighbours on each side seem to have lovely gardens which are both private and screen out the houses behind.

We are complete novices in the green fingers department, but love roses, clematis, lavender, rosemary, honeysuckle (ie highly scented and low maintenance plants). We would also like a couple of fruit trees and something tall to screen out the houses at the back.

There is no independent access to the garden so anything new needs to come in through the house.

I would be very grateful for any ideas. We were thinking of maybe having the garden designed and planted in the first instance. Has anyone done this and can you recommend anybody? Also, how much roughly did it cost?

When is the best time of year to plant? Can we do anything now or should it be left until Spring?

All advice gratefully received.

shovetheholly Wed 31-Aug-16 08:23:02

It sounds as though you're going to want to put some trees in for screening -the time to do that is after leaf fall. Which may mean you want to get cracking on the garden design side of things fairly soon!

You can get various different packages. The most comprehensive design-and-plant solutions will be about £15-20k all in I would guess. In that, you pay a lot of money for larger plants that 'fast forward' your garden 5-7 years. If you're prepared to wait a bit longer for the garden to mature, and to do some work yourself, or to use a young designer, you may be able to do it considerably cheaper than this - say £5-7k for design and basic landscaping.

pimmsperfecto Thu 01-Sep-16 20:46:17

Thanks Holly, that's really helpful. Can you recommend anybody?

bilbodog Thu 01-Sep-16 21:35:22