Talk

Advanced search

Help a novice grower - tomato plants not watered for 5 days - any hope of rescuing them?

(23 Posts)
WhenDoISleep Thu 18-Aug-16 18:27:13

Please help a novice tomato grower.

I have 6 tomato plants growing in growbags (2 bags with 3 plants each). I have been away and the plants were not watered between last Thursday and my return yesterday. I had arranged for them to be watered but it didn't happen.

When I came back one set of 3 looked ok, very wilted but still mostly green leaves. The other set, which had been looking very healthy before I left was looking very sad. The leaves have all shrivelled and a lot have turned brown.

I have watered them several times since I returned but would like some advice as to if it is possible to help them recover or if there is no hope. I have the tomato feed sticks inserted in the growbags oil since the first fruit appeared.

This is my first year trying to grow anything and they were doing so well.

bookbook Thu 18-Aug-16 21:37:36

Have you any tomatoes set ? If you have don't try to do extra watering - it will just split the skins on the fruit. They are pretty good at recovering, even if they look sad . Fingers crossed smile

elephantoverthehill Thu 18-Aug-16 21:40:10

If you have fruit on your tomatoes it is a good idea to start removing the leaves anyway. The leaves have done their job and will now be just shading the fruit and stopping it ripening. Cut off any brown leaves and any big ones from the bottom. Be careful about being too enthusiastic about the watering if they have dried out as too much too quickly can cause the tomatoes to swell rapidly and split the skins. See Friday's GW.

shovetheholly Fri 19-Aug-16 08:45:31