Talk

Advanced search

a few questions, new flower bed and mini greenhouses

(12 Posts)
pud1 Thu 28-Jul-16 12:20:41

i am currently doing some ground work for a flower bed. i am only at the digging stage.
i am thinking about what to plant and the general cost. the size is about 4 meters by 1 meter. i thought that to keep costs down will try to grow some from seed. i am thinking of getting a small greenhouse. i can put it down the side of the house. i have looked at the ones with the plastic covers. is it false economy to buy one of these?
the bed is against a fence and i would like to have some climbing plants. i also would prefer to have mainly white flowers. can anyone recommend some nice plants.
as you can probably tell i am a total novice and to be honest i think i have bitten off more than i can chew with this one

JT05 Thu 28-Jul-16 14:30:06

I've said it on other threads, but I'll repeat ( sorry ). Have a look in garden centres and nurseries they are beginning to sell of plants cheaply, as they don't want to overwinter them.
Get your structure plants in first, a white climbing rose perhaps and a Philadelphis. It is easy to fill gaps with annuals next year. White carnations, pinks and pale Penstemons look lovely.

Plastic greenhouses do have a limited life and are not very robust against the weather.

pud1 Thu 28-Jul-16 15:45:54

thanks
i have a small local nursery i will have a look.

Kwirrell Thu 28-Jul-16 16:47:05

I don't know if you are near London, but the Savill Garden in Windsor Park has some amazing bedding schemes. The White garden there was spectacular. Other white Gardens are at Sissinghurst.

The most important thing about the plastic greenhouse is to secure it to the wall or fence.

Ditsy4 Thu 28-Jul-16 23:04:27