Talk

Advanced search

Beginners veg patch?

(11 Posts)
Playduh Fri 15-Jul-16 16:35:09

I've been reading the veg plot thread but it's a bit advanced for me so I thought I'd ask for advice separately.

I have the below plot. It's clay, gets a fair bit of sun but not all day. It's pretty sheltered from wind etc, I'm in the south east.

Until very recently it was all gravel so I had to make do with strawberries in big pots, which other than a few slugs did pretty well.

Can you wise women recommend some beginners fruit / veg for me to try?

Playduh Fri 15-Jul-16 16:47:51

Sorry, forgot to add that it's ever so slightly alkaline.

GrouchyKiwi Fri 15-Jul-16 17:19:34

I am a beginner also and spend a lot of time in the Allotment thread here. The advice is brilliant. The best thing the experts on that thread said was grow what you like to eat! I also google a lot of things, mostly terminology.

This is my first year with a vegetable patch. I've grown

- broad beans: a bit late for those now, but think of them for next year if you like them because they grow brilliantly in my very similar soil.
- spinach: the wet, warm weather made it bolt very quickly but it was delicious while it lasted. I've got some more little seedlings coming up now and hopefully they'll last a bit longer. You should be able to get some going now. Apparently spinach doesn't like to be transplanted so just direct sow it.
- carrots: I added sand to a section of my soil and the carrots are growing well.
- potatoes: they romped away and I had to take them out this week a bit early as they were crushing other plants. You might be able to put some main crop ones in now.
- lettuce: grows brilliantly, DH loves the taste (I don't like lettuce). You'll definitely be able to grow some now.
- peas: they're just about ready to harvest now and taste yum. I think you should be able to sow some now.
- spring onions: they grow very quickly. I put some more in about two weeks ago so I think you could do them now too.