Talk

Advanced search

Help! dreaded horsetail...

(16 Posts)
TheOracleAtSelfie Wed 01-Jun-16 15:41:57

I am quite new to gardening. We bought our first home last year so this is the first time I've had a garden to call my own and I'm determined to learn how to take care of it. HOWEVER the front garden (lawn and border) is infested with horsetail. Any green-fingered tips? I've tried to weed it by hand but it seems to be a hardy bugger and keeps returning angry

Pootles2010 Wed 01-Jun-16 15:51:10

Watching with interest, I've never got rid of mine - easier to pull up when its little, thats all I know. Neighbour tells me its been around since prehistoric times but it was more like a tree then - we've no chance! here quite interesting...

NanTheWiser Wed 01-Jun-16 17:20:46

Bad luck! I've been in my house over 20 years, and have never succeeded in getting rid of it. My front garden was infested, and I took rather drastic action in having it all block paved, but shoots still appear. I also have it in my back garden, and at this time of year it starts to grow quite strongly - the only thing you can do is pull it up relentlessly whenever you see it. Weedkiller (glyphosate) doesn't really kill it unless you bruise the stems before applying, but not easy to do in a border full of plants.
I did manage to get rid of most of the bindweed that plagued me, by digging out all the roots I could and constantly pulling up new shoots, but horsetail is practically indestructible!

TheOracleAtSelfie Wed 01-Jun-16 18:40:55

Nooo. Ok. Looks like we're unluckysad

Will continue my relentless campaign of pulling the bastard weeds out of the border, and doing what I can with the ones on the front lawn...

Tinklypoo Wed 01-Jun-16 19:08:00

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Pootles2010 Wed 01-Jun-16 19:12:50

Wow! That's some commitment! Afraid it wouldn't work for us as it's all down our street so would just spread back sad

shotwithmyownbagsofshit Wed 01-Jun-16 19:17:58