Talk

Advanced search

Tips for an absolute beginner

(22 Posts)
NoManJan Thu 03-Mar-16 08:56:59

We moved into our house last summer, a week before our baby arrived and the only gardening we managed was cutting the grass!

Now DD is 7 months and I'm hoping for a nice summer so we can spend some time outdoors.

I'm unsure which way the garden faces but there's a rockery area at the back of the garden that is currently overgrown - snowdrops made a surprise appearance in the last month though.

I was planning to create a border around the sides of the lawn but not sure if this is wise for a newbie. I need something low maintenance but also that I can go potter around when I fancy.

Can anyone give me an idea of gardening must haves, tools etc? Also plants that are hardy and easy to grow.

Thanks so much

shovetheholly Thu 03-Mar-16 11:28:54

A border is a great idea! Maybe start down one side so it doesn't feel too overwhelming and then you can extend your ambitions as you get into it! And I'm sure you can get that rockery firing on all cylinders in no time.

The first thing I'd recommend is the DVD of Alan Titchmarsh's How To Be A Gardener. It really is a good introduction, and I don't even like the bloke!!

Work out what type of soil (clay, sand)/pH of soil (cheap test kits from the garden centre)/aspect you have as these will make a big difference to what you can grow. I realise this sounds complicated, but trust me - it isn't (the DVD explains it more I think).

Plan the shape of your bed - if you have some bright-coloured rope or even an old hose, it can help to lay this out on the ground and then go indoors and look at it. I find things look very different from my bedroom window compared to on the ground!

My top tip is always to sort the soil out first, so I'd add bags and bags of the cheap 4-for-£10 compost you get in the garden centre. Possibly some horticultural grit, too, if you have really heavy clay.