Talk

Advanced search

Ponds and frogs galore

(17 Posts)
Hartofpixie Sun 21-Feb-16 15:09:13

We recently moved to an older property that has a largish pond - I've just looked out of the window and there are about a gazillion frogs and loads of frogspawn. Is this normal? Where will they go? I have visions of frogs appearing in my house. There were fish in the pond, but they haven't appeared recently (pond is about 1m deep) - and at least one has met its maker via a heron. Any top tips on how to manage ponds for a complete novice?!

DoreenLethal Sun 21-Feb-16 15:35:30

Just leave it be; if you don't know what you are doing you could wipe out all those lovely slug eaters. Frogs will spawn in ponds [that's what they do].

If you want to start managing your pond, do some research before you do anything. Don't go and clear it out or you could lose your whole ecosystem.

For the record, you either have fish ponds or wildlife ponds. Easiest is a wildlife one, which just needs a little work when the weeds take over. It sounds like your fish have been eaten which is what happens in a wildlife pond. Just clear the leaves out in the autumn and leave them all to it. If you do clear anything out ever, leave it in a mound at the side of the pond for at least 24-48 hours for any critters to climb back into the pond.

maddiemay Sun 21-Feb-16 15:36:38

Ooh I love ponds smile any possibility of a photo?

shovetheholly Sun 21-Feb-16 16:09:51

Oooh, you lucky thing! Frogs are in a nose-dive like decline, so it's fantastic to hear that you've got tons of them! And don't worry - frogs are unlikely to appear in your house in any kind of numbers! They like cool, damp, dark, wet places - so the opposite to most human houses