Talk

Advanced search

HELP I have taken on a garden with issues!

(9 Posts)
pickles184 Sat 17-Oct-15 20:06:02

Please could I have some help from you knowledgeable gardeners for my new rented house. When I went to look round the property the grass was pretty overgrown and there were several weed areas causing trouble, especially around the trees, but the letting agent assured me that it would be sorted ready for us moving in.
Deposit is all paid and we're due to move on Friday, went to have a look around this afternoon and they have cut the grass..

What the overgrown grass was hiding could pass for the aftermath of the ww trenches, there is not one patch of even ground, there are potholes, ruts, serious trenches and there is no way you would let children run on it for fear of broken bones. On top of that of the 5 trees in the garden only one looks healthy and all have been taken over completely with ivy and the weed issue is large areas that have been allowed to become fully mature.

I am not a gardener, I love nice gardens, but lack the time, energy and skill to have a beautiful garden. I am more than capable of keeping lawns cared for and keeping on top of the average weed infestation and can manage a couple of pots and a small bed of plants. In theory this garden should of fit the bill, aside from the trees it is just grass can't call it a lawn with a straight face.
It is a pretty large size being approximately 60×20m at the back and another 8x10m at the front.

Being realistic how much mantime/cost am I looking at to level the ground and reseed? I am hoping that I convince the estate office to do something proper with the weeds and possibly removing the sick trees, but if they refuse where do I stand with tree felling?

WelliesAndPyjamas Sat 17-Oct-15 20:11:24