Talk

Advanced search

Is anyone an expert in growing cut flowers?

(10 Posts)
CharlieSierra Fri 09-Oct-15 17:14:54

I am reasonably experienced in the garden but have never had a cutting garden. My daughter is getting married next July and I would like to grow some of the flowers myself, not the main ones but it's a summer wedding in a barn and we want loads of flowers. Any advice, tips and major pitfalls would be very welcome.

Verbena37 Fri 09-Oct-15 21:10:26

The link goes to a lovely cutting garden florist.....there are plenty of pics on the website for ideas. They grow some beautiful flowers for weddings.....bouquets and decorations.
Foxtail Lilly

silversixpence Sat 10-Oct-15 20:50:10

[http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Cut-Flower-Patch-flowers/dp/0711234752 The Cut Flower Patch]] is a brilliant and beautiful book (she blogs as Welly Woman and has lots of posts on her blog too. I am not an expert but was really successful this year (first time). I grew nicotiana, zinnias, dahlias, cosmos, antirrhinum, sunflowers, malope and bupleurum all from seed. I also bought scabious and cosmos from Sarah Raven which did well but not until later in the season. I also recommend looking at the Higgidy Garden blog as he has some excellent posts on how to start your garden as well as selling seeds. The Sarah Raven catalogue is also great for ideas, her seeds can be a bit more expensive though.

silversixpence Sat 10-Oct-15 20:51:02

The Cut Flower Patch

JeffsanArsehole Sat 10-Oct-15 20:52:59

Rachel de Thame did it on Gardeners World last year over a few programmes. Hers were amazing and she did it in expensively in about 3 x 15 foot beds I think?

Definitely worth watching

aircooled Sun 11-Oct-15 10:50:47

I found a book called The Flower Farmer by Lynn Byczynski - it's American but you can get it on Amazon. More about growing flowers on a large scale to sell but still relevant to smaller garden plots.

CharlieSierra Tue 13-Oct-15 20:41:34