Talk

Advanced search

Total beginner - new house - help! (Photo)

(28 Posts)
museumum Mon 10-Aug-15 21:42:32

This is the southern edge of our new house garden. A beech hedge. The last 1.5-2m strip of sloping rockery is obviously in the shadow of the hedge a lot and quite bare of plants.
Any suggestions for what I could put there? (We're in Scotland so hardy please - and I love alpines but need something with decent cover not too dainty).

museumum Mon 10-Aug-15 21:43:44

Ps. This was before I weeded. What you see is grass and some kind of willowherb which I've pulled out now.

Ferguson Mon 10-Aug-15 23:11:27

Is it your hedge? And if it is, does it have to be so tall?

(Late now, but I'll come back in a day or two.)

museumum Tue 11-Aug-15 07:19:29

Is next doors. But due to the slope of the gardens tall is necessary for privacy really.

shovetheholly Tue 11-Aug-15 08:03:48

Ooooh, it's lovely! You can make something spectacular out of that slope. There will be loads of hardy things you can grow - the challenge may be to get it planted in a way that gives you all-year interest. It looks to me like you have quite a few nice plants in there already - do you know what they are?

Before I make loads of suggestions that won't work - what's your soil like, and how much light does that slope get during the day?

Finally, before you do anything I would add loads and loads of organic matter to the soil.

museumum Tue 11-Aug-15 11:06:09

Not got a clue what anything is. Sorry.

Soil seems ok. Easy enough to weed. No extremes - not particularly clay or sandy. But I don't know the ph. It's been there around 60 years according to next door neighbours who have similar slope.

museumum Tue 11-Aug-15 11:08:28

That right hand side of the slope doesn't get much sun really. The left hand part (not photographed, the whole slope is twice the width in the photo) is sunny.

StaceyAndTracey Tue 11-Aug-15 13:02:06