Talk

Advanced search

Can anyone recommend a gardening/landscaping qualification??

(6 Posts)
plipplops Wed 05-Aug-15 15:25:44

I'm a decent amateur gardener rethinking my life. I work part time now (4 days a week, term time only) but would love to work in gardens. I'm thinking to start fairly soon doing gardening for old people on my one spare day - mowing lawns, edging, weeding etc but ultimately it'd be great to be able to plan planting schemes and design, potentially full time(ish). I know a reasonable amount through trial and error in my own tiny garden but am thinking I need to get some proper qualifications of some kind if I'd like to make career of it. (I had another thread in Chat to see if any of this seems like a good idea).

There's quite a range of courses - RHS, City & Guilds etc. I think I'd probably need to do distance learning unless I could find an evening course locally (which seems unlikely). Does anyone have any experience of any of these or anything else I've not thought of?

HaveYouSeenHerLately Fri 07-Aug-15 16:47:34

I'd be interested to hear from anyone with experience too smile

deplorabelle Fri 07-Aug-15 19:10:32

Can't give you any useful tips but just to say my next door neighbour did this and has made a go of it for many years. smile

plipplops Sat 08-Aug-15 13:25:51

Thanks - I think it's a goer but I'd like some more training on things like planting schemes and planning etc.. It's hard as there are quite a few different options but I don't really want to waste time doing something that is all a bit theoretical and no practise (although maybe that's exactly what I need as I can get the practice out there, who knows?) And as I plan on working for myself it's not like I need to impress an employer it's just about getting the knowledge to do it right in other people's gardens smile

StaceyAndTracey Sat 08-Aug-15 20:01:22