Talk

Advanced search

What will crop in 7 week window??

(12 Posts)
Cathpot Thu 04-Jun-15 15:52:06

We are living overseas ( sadly no where nice or gardening friendly) and are back in UK for 7 weeks from the end of June. I hugely miss having a garden, and can't wait to get back to it. I have a deep raised bed which I left empty and covered with weed mat. Normally I grow veggies from seed- nothing complicated as I am a beginner - tomatoes, chillies, cucumbers in the greenhouse, lettuce and peas outside. I really want to get something in and cropping in the window I have- can't grow from seed but apart from lettuce what else do you think would be a quick fix? Would buying peas as plants be a quick option? Very expensive? My timings are all about growing from seed and I don't want to be having to pull it all out in the 3rd week of August! Am in the southwest. Any advice would be great

shovetheholly Thu 04-Jun-15 15:55:16

7 weeks! Blimey!

I would go for salad crops, and buy plants where possible - radishes, lettuces, spinach, spring onions. Peas are unlikely to crop in that time, but you could give it a go and eat the pea shoots. Turnip 'market express' are supposed to come in around 40-50 days.

ouryve Thu 04-Jun-15 15:57:10

Baby spinach might do it from seed. Most salad fruit crops are already quite big plants by late June, but you might have some luck with relatively mature tomato plants in a warm part of the UK.

Radishes are a good bet, though, like lettuce, will need saving from the cabbage whites
www.thompson-morgan.com/vegetables/vegetable-seeds/salad-seeds/radish-rainbow-mixed/70TM
Spring onions might just work, too
www.thompson-morgan.com/vegetables/vegetable-seeds/onion-and-leek-seeds/bunching-spring-onion-white-lisbon/528TM

ouryve Thu 04-Jun-15 15:58:39

For established plants, rather than a garden centre, look for a plant nursery, btw - often much cheaper with healthier plants and varieties that grow well in the area.

Cathpot Fri 05-Jun-15 06:57:57