Talk

Advanced search

Overwhelmed by my acre..can you advise?

(102 Posts)
WizardOfToss Wed 25-Feb-15 16:38:44

I'm not a complete beginner, but I've had a small garden previously, so most if it was given to veg beds, chickens, evergreen borders and pots. Lots of lovely colourful pots on the patio. I do know about container gardening at least..

But now I'm having to change my entire mindset. We have an acre! We've been here a year now, and I followed advice and did very little last year apart from re-lay paths, get standing water away from the house, and my beloved pots! Oh, and planted fruit trees. We wanted to see where the sun was, what came up etc (having moved in winter).

Well I'll tell you what came up - weeds! I want to start getting to grips this year. I've got a lot of ideas and there's masses of potential. Just feeling overwhelmed by the sheer scale of it!

Garden facts: in Cornwall, so warm, wet and fertile. Lots of established trees. River running through the garden. Some lawn. In woodland, at the bottom of the valley, so gets the sun late in autumn and winter and has lots of shade, as well as very sunny spots. Has a very wild feel, which I like.

Any wisdom to share? In particular is it best to just completely clear an area, even if it has some established plants amongst the weeds, bracken, bramble and dock, or should I try to save things?

I don't have a massive budget and can't afford a regular gardener, but could get someone in for one off jobs like clearing ground. I do have time to spend on it though.

Phew - that was an essay. Thanks if you got to the end! smile

Ferguson Wed 25-Feb-15 22:48:15

No time now, but will return in day or two with suggestions.

ToddleWaddle Wed 25-Feb-15 22:55:18

Sounds idyllic. We also have an acre with a new build. Previously had a well maintained small garden.