Talk

Advanced search

Landscaping a garden - how much are we talking (ball park)?

(10 Posts)
HappyAsEyeAm Mon 24-Mar-14 11:29:11

We bought our house 4 years ago, and are now starting to think about what we could do with the garden. It isn't in dire need or anything, as the previous owners were into their gardening, and it is a low maintenance garden, as gardens go. We tend to have gardeners come in in speing andin autumn for a massive tidy up, and all we do really is mow the lawn. Its just that it is quite big (I'd say about 50 feet wide and about 150 feet long. That's an approximation - I am not good at assessing distances! The shrubs and plants are very mature.

The garden looks like this as you look down the garden from the house: patio (quite big and square), then raised beds the width of the garden with steps between them leading to the lawn, raised beds then the length of the garden each side to the bottom of the garden. We have a big trampoline and playhouse/swings/slide combo on the lawn. We also have a patio to the side of the house leading to those raised beds whch are closes to the house. We have a big weeping ash in one corner of the lawn, which is our only shade. Garden is north facing, but the area around us is not very built up at all, so it gets lots of sun.

We want to replace all the patio areas, make nice new steps, and have propor raised beds supported by nice walls (ours are crumbling concrete and brick).

How much do we need to be saving please?!

Rhubarbgarden Mon 24-Mar-14 14:15:35

I'm afraid it's a 'how long is a piece of string' question. What materials do you want for your patio? Natural stone? Concrete slabs? Wooden decking? The prices and quality vary wildly. Cost of labour depends on the going rate in your area.

Your best bet is to get in a couple of local landscapers and talk through your ideas with them, and ask for estimates. Also do some research into what materials you like. Marshalls is a good place to start.