Talk

Advanced search

a new allotment! and docks.

(6 Posts)
nightshade1 Sat 22-Mar-14 13:15:13

Today I took over a new allotment, its not in too bad nick, apparently its had a few quick changes of hands so it a bit neglected but its nothing a few hours hard graft cant sort out.
Im so excited to get going with it - just got to decide what to grow and where. Ideas gratefully received grin

But docks - there is a patch of grass behind and to the side of the compost bins that is mine, but its riddled with docks.....what is the best way to get rid?

dreamingofsun Sat 22-Mar-14 15:40:27

i'm no expert with the docks, as i too am on my first full summer with a plot. would love to hear what you are planting and how its growing on a regular basis. the allotment post seems to have vanished from here

docks - can you did them out? Or cover with black plastic till they are dead? I don't think you are supposed to put weeds like this in compost, but i've read you can soak them for a few months and then do it once they are dead - this is what i'm trying.

there are lots of seeds that you can plant now - beetroot, carrot, turnip, parsnip, leeks, onions, pots, cornflowers. grow what you like to eat. you also need to work out your crop rotation and i suggest drawing a plan. i have 4 foot beds, with paths between made from weed suppressant. build a compost heap asap so you have somewhere for weeds. Inside i have corn, basil, origano, sunflowers, sweat peas, growing. i have found that with a cheap unheated propagator the results are much better than without.

is it a full plot or a half - min's the latter and i have already nearly filled it

i too am excited. i'm finding doing little and often is great

Dig em out but good and deep, or mow mow mow if you can, or a sneaky squirt of glyphosate.

I keep a bucket of water next to my compost bin for roots of things like docks. Eventually when it's truly disgusting the water goes on the compost heap.

Methe Sat 22-Mar-14 15:58:46