Talk

Advanced search

Should I plant a plum or a pear tree?

(16 Posts)
ilikeyoursleeves Sat 10-Sep-11 21:54:03

I am a complete garden novice and so is DH. We have a lovely mature garden (planted by previous owners) and already have an apple tree. We get a good crop every year so we'd like to plant another fruit tree. I don't know what type or when / how to plant it though?

I'd be grateful for any advice, thanks.

SazZaVoom Sat 10-Sep-11 21:54:42

Plum. Or Both.

ilikeyoursleeves Sat 10-Sep-11 21:58:10

Only room for one!

SazZaVoom Sat 10-Sep-11 21:58:52

Definitely plum then!

AnnabellaFagina Sat 10-Sep-11 22:01:47

Plums attract wasps.

Beamur Sat 10-Sep-11 22:03:47

I'd say plum too, but eek to the wasps.

AuntieMonica Sat 10-Sep-11 22:05:53

pears are notoriously difficult to catch when perfectly ripe, and don't ripen well indoors either

i'd plant a plum tree if it were me, the fruit are more versatile as in cooking and preserving IMO

smile

AnnabellaFagina Sat 10-Sep-11 22:06:28

I'm seriously in love with pear trees too.

ilikeyoursleeves Sat 10-Sep-11 22:16:30

Anyone know when it's best to plant a plum tree then?

Hullygully Sat 10-Sep-11 22:17:28

each peach pear plum

AuntieMonica Sat 10-Sep-11 22:19:14

do it now, while the ground is still warmish.

plenty of manure, well dug in and has to be kept well weeded

needs plenty of good sun too, no less than 1/3 shade really as they are susceptible to disease otherwise

RunsWithScissors Sat 10-Sep-11 22:19:15

I think all fruit trees are the same, right now is great timing.

bellamom Sun 11-Sep-11 20:23:40

well, if you love plums plant a plum tree, and if you love pears, plant a pear tree!!! we have both but not much fruit yet as still very young trees... good luck!

Cereal Sun 11-Sep-11 23:51:26

Pears attract wasps too!

DoesBuggerAll Mon 12-Sep-11 00:18:07