Talk

Advanced search

Tell me about your favourite tree

(14 Posts)
SarfEasticated Thu 01-Sep-11 08:44:40

if you could only have one kind of tree in your garden what would it be?

I think we have space for one tree and I am hoping you'll suggest one that gives fruit, has beautiful blossom and is good for wildlife... <crosses fingers>

Seepage Thu 01-Sep-11 08:50:35

My favourite tree in my garden is a magnolia Grandiflora. No fruit but the most delicious smelling flowers

most useful would be an apple.

SarfEasticated Thu 01-Sep-11 09:30:38

Gorgeous seepage - two words I have never used together before!

Seepage Thu 01-Sep-11 10:23:46

mine has loads of flowers this year - you can smell them coming down the path, mixed with the lavender.

NorksAreMessy Thu 01-Sep-11 11:35:52

oooh, GREENGAGE. they look nothing special, just generically fruity, but the fruit is absolutely gorgeous (I gorged, then made jam to gorge later)

we are renting our house and I know that I will have to plant a greengage in the house we buy.

Pleiades45 Thu 01-Sep-11 15:28:37

I have 4 favourites:

Magnolia soulageana - white flower - needs a sheltered spot or the flowers fall off - also funny about soil type
Weeping Japanese Maple (can be kept in a pot)
Weeping Cherry Tree - no fruit
Buddleia - loved by butterflies and bees - purple is the most common colour but think you can get white and pink too

I think they are all spectacular and wouldn't be able to choose between them.

CroissantNeuf Thu 01-Sep-11 15:47:54

I love apple trees and have recently planted 2 to replace the last one which we lost due to a combination of disease and a mini-digger.

survivingsummer Fri 02-Sep-11 11:04:33

I planted a Robinia Pseudoaccacia last year and I absolutely love it! It has been just beautiful all year around and lights up my small garden no end. A bit brittle in the wind and no fruit but otherwise, perfect.

Would love a Magnolia but we have very alkaline soil so is a no no is our garden..