Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Lavender plant - help!

(8 Posts)
InMyPrime Tue 26-Jul-11 17:31:47

I'm a relatively novice gardener and have been experimenting with some new plants recently to liven up the garden and add some colour. I bought a lavender plant and transplanted it to a large ceramic pot, which I have sat outside in the sunniest part of my garden, since lavender is supposed to need a lot of sunshine. The guidance I got on lavender says that the worst thing it can have is wet roots or any damp at all so when transplanting it I put some gravel in the bottom of the pot to help drainage and tried not to overwater it. Luckily we've had lots of sunny, dry weather recently but with some heavy rain showers in between.

Unfortunately my lavender plant doesn't seem to be thriving! The lavender flowers that were on it when I bought it (a month ago) are turning brown and it seems to be withering. Am I not watering it enough? Is the climate where we are (East Central Scotland) just not warm enough and too wet? Help! I really love lavender and really want the plant to grow but think I'm doing something wrong...confused

jalopy Tue 26-Jul-11 17:54:39

I'm guessing that it has reached the end of flowering.

shoots Tue 26-Jul-11 20:16:00

I love it too and luckily my lavenders are flowering like mad at the moment but wonder if it could be the type of lavender? I've found some harder to grow than others - never had any luck with stoechas but english lavender does brilliantly in my garden. Might just be trial and error!

BettySpaghettiOnAJetty Tue 26-Jul-11 20:27:18

I had some of that French lavender in my front garden, that flowered weeks ago and is now finished, but the 'ordinary' lavender I've got in the back is in full flower at the moment.

InMyPrime Tue 26-Jul-11 22:59:13

Thanks, everyone - the type of lavender I have is this one:
Lavendula