Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Advice/help needed it's been a while :/

(9 Posts)
Lu223 Mon 02-Oct-17 21:07:24

Hi, wondered if anyone had some help/advice for me.
I currently work as a nursery nurse, I have been for the last 5 years, I did my level 2 in the children and young peoples workforce and then went on to do level 3, through working at a nursery setting I have gained other qualifications needed for the setting such as health and safety, food handling, first aid ect, I was looking at returning to education and studying to become a teacher after looking online I’m so confused, what courses would I be able to do? Someone said I’d need to do an access course, when I looked into this everything that’s covered I’ve already done plus more in my training courses previously and through experience of working with children, any advice/help would be much appreciated! Sorry if this doesn’t make sense.
Thank you.

catslife Tue 03-Oct-17 16:10:25

The basic requirements for teacher training are on the link (see below)
www.ucas.com/ucas/teacher-training/getting-started/ucas-teacher-training-entry-requirements
1. You need at least grade C (or4) in GCSE Maths and English (they don't accept equivalents for these qualifications. For primary you also need grade C (or 4) in Science. If you don't have these qualifications you will need to take these first. (you may be allowed to take one subject alongside a level 3 course).

2. Not all level 3 qualifications are accepted as equivalent to A levels. If you aren't sure then the best approach would be to email a few universities and ask. If your level 3 qualification isn't acceptable as an A level alternative, then you would have to take a relevant Access course.

LIZS Tue 03-Oct-17 16:14:46

Was it an Extended Level 3 Diploma? Do you have gcses in English and Maths? If not you may need the Access course to apply.

catslife Tue 03-Oct-17 19:20:58