Talk

Advanced search

Re-train as a teacher or TA..what do I need?

(11 Posts)
IslaLettuce Sat 14-Jan-17 20:39:59

I'm confused by all the various pledges to free re training and free funding etc. I have a degree in business and I also have an accredited Drama school qualification. I'd like to try working as a TA with a view to training as a teacher. First question is, is it possible to get a TA job with my current qualifications? Second question? Can I do PGCE in one year to give me teacher qualified status? I'm currently volunteering in a primary school classroom.

SweepTheHalls Sat 14-Jan-17 20:40:56

Are you planning primary or secondary? If secondary, which subject?

IslaLettuce Sat 14-Jan-17 21:47:14

Primary school.

BikeRunSki Sat 14-Jan-17 22:02:42

I have a friend who is a TA. She also has a degree and it was more long winded for her to become a TA than or would have been to beome a teacher! After about 3 years as a TA, she is hoping to start her PGCE in September.

IslaLettuce Sat 14-Jan-17 22:12:15

Really bike? I need to do some proper research. I thought TA would be an easy opening into making sure i was making the right career choice. If it's easier to go straight to the PGSE that might be the option I take. Thanks

BikeRunSki Sat 14-Jan-17 22:28:29

I think it was something like a 2 yr NVQ (which is sub-degree standard, so her degree doesn't count) to be a TA or a 1 year PGCE (on top of her existing degree) to qualify as a teacher. This is for primary school - she mostly works with KS2 age children.

MaybeDoctor Sat 14-Jan-17 22:34:26

I'm an ex-teacher. Being a TA gives a good insight into the workings of schools and working with children, but is quite a different job to being a teacher. Looking back, the best insight into the role of a teacher was talking to serving teachers.

I would be quite surprised if you get funding at present, but maybe you will get lucky if you follow a particular route.