Talk

Advanced search

I lost my job today... v.v. upset.

(8 Posts)
minko Tue 01-Sep-09 22:03:25

I had a lovely graphic design job which I did from home, which fitted around the DCs perfectly and I had been doing for 2 years.

Today I found out the client wants to use a designer they have previous history with (and who they feel they owe it to). So it's not my fault, and I am gutted.

Work is so important to me. It's reminds me of who I am, when I'm not being a mummy. And I loved the work, my direct boss who told me on the phone even sounded choked. Am quite worried how I am going to feel just being a SAHM.

Sorry, not a lot of 'point' here, just needed to moan and hopefully hear something consoling... (A job would be good too if anyone needs any graphic design work...)

TanteRose Wed 02-Sep-09 05:54:05

sad
oh dear.
surely you can get a reference from them and try and get more work elsewhere...or is that
an impossibility in the current economic climate?
hope you find more work smile
oh, and don't feel that its "just" a SAHM...try and enjoy it for a while, at least.

minko Wed 02-Sep-09 07:58:36

Thanks TRose.

It's just rubbish being freelance sometimes becasue no-one has any qualms about getting rid of you at a moment's notice. No warning, just a phone call and now that's it after 2 years.

Work (to do from home) is hard to come by, but we'll see...

Perhaps I am on a bit of a downer about being a SAHM after 6 weeks of my 2 DCs fighting! Just can't imagine myself sitting about polishing the family silver all day...

TantieTowie Wed 02-Sep-09 14:11:35

Commiserations! I've sort of been there - when I was first freelance I took on regular days in an office. Six months on they lost a contract and I was very easy to get rid of with no notice at all. I don't miss it at all- but it is always a bit of a shock at first, especially when you have that sense of having had colleagues.