Talk

Advanced search

Freelancers - does anyone employ a virtual assistant - and is it worth it?

(21 Posts)
TantieTowie Wed 26-Aug-09 12:58:46

I'm a freelance journalist and I sometimes get fed up with the interminable email writing, phone calls etc needed to set up interviews, not to mention the transcribing, dealing with accounts and expenses etc, going through and sorting out inbox (which isn't at all sorted)

Sometimes I think if I just outsourced all of the routine stuff, I'd be free to take on more work (have had to turn some down recently). It would also mean my non-working, childcare days would be less hassle, and I might not have to work so many evenings.

In a way I already do this with childcare - so I thought it could work in other areas of my life. But then I also tend to assume it would be too expensive.

So my question is: do any freelancers on here use a virtual assistant - and is it financially worth it? Do you use an individual or an agency? Is there a hourly rate you have to be making yourself before you make a profit from the hours you save, IYSWIM?

biscuit76 Wed 26-Aug-09 14:24:42

I use a VA (well my last one has just left to become a fulltime SAHM) but I'm missing her so on the hunt for a replacement.

It has made a big difference but you do really need to find the right person - so far the people I have interviewed just think it will be a basic admin job without any responsibilities that they get to do while watching This Morning. You do need to pay a good rate of pay to get the ones with experience - my last VA was getting around £22 an hour and I think I'm going to have to pay around this again.

You also need to get the systems in place for it to work.

I use lots of online services such as the Microsoft OfficeSpace so that the virtual part works easily - I found that I often wasted time explaining stuff in the early days so I could have just done the task myself, IYSWIM

TantieTowie Wed 26-Aug-09 15:03:35