Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would anyone be able to help with some career counselling/bracing advice about how I remake my freelance life?

(15 Posts)
vonsudenfed Tue 09-Jun-09 14:07:39

Because I don't know what to do with myself, and I could really do with some fresh thoughts (resists urge to use wanky out of box blue sky phrases).

I've been a freelancer for ages - all my working life in fact - but the very easy tv, long contract for just one employer at a time kind of freelance. But tv production is not only almost impossible to combine with children (at least for me), it's also all going to hell in a handcart in terms of budget and sensationalism. I've spent the last year doing programme development - i.e. writing up new programme ideas for pitching to tv companies - but the company I was working for has run out of money.

So, here I am. I'd like to work a couple of days a week, not more than that for a few years. I'm good at writing, at communications in general, and also very good at organising large scale things and managing people/budgets (having been in charge of several big series in my other pre child life).

I'd rather work at home - or at least am prepared to work for less money than tv if I can work from home. I ought to be able to do something interesting and reasonably paid, but right now my mind is a blank.

So if anyone does have any ideas, thoughts or suggestions, they'd be much appreciated!

thumbwitch Wed 10-Jun-09 00:28:16

thought I'd answer this one as well, since I'm trawling through Unanswered Messages just now grin and saw your response on t'other one.

You sound from your post as though you want to do something similar to what you are already doing. If that is the case then I doubt I can help much, as it is outside my experience. But - if you are prepared to do a complete change, then there are all sorts of things you can do.