Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Online business, Maternity Leave and Dh

(4 Posts)
nuttygirl Thu 12-Feb-09 14:06:59

Ok so I have an online business (retail) and am pregnant (due 4th Aug).

My original plan was to take approx 10 weeks maternity leave and to work one day per week - with a statement on the website that all enquiries, orders etc will be dealt with on that day (same day each week iyswim). Business isn't that busy yet so this would be feasible.

However, because I don't have a small earnings exemption certificate I would get £113 ish per week Maternity Allowance. At the moment all money earned by the business goes back into it so I'm earning nothing. The extra £113 per week would make a HUGE difference to us.

I understand that essentially abandoning the business for a year isn't going to help it. Is there any way dh could take it over while I take maternity leave? If so, what would I have to do? (At present I'm a sole trader if that makes a difference)

LadyMuck Thu 12-Feb-09 16:45:01

Tbh I would continue as normal. How is anyone ever going to work out whether you were "working" or not. It is rather different from being employed.

But yes, anyone can do the work for you if they're happy to do so. Your dh could work for you for free (assuming that you operate as a single economic unit this would be easiest).

LadyMuck Thu 12-Feb-09 16:45:13

Tbh I would continue as normal. How is anyone ever going to work out whether you were "working" or not. It is rather different from being employed.

But yes, anyone can do the work for you if they're happy to do so. Your dh could work for you for free (assuming that you operate as a single economic unit this would be easiest).

threewisemonkeys Thu 12-Feb-09 17:06:25