Talk

Advanced search

Client who delays payments...help!!!!

(10 Posts)
madteacher Thu 18-Sep-08 08:59:39

I work as a music teacher privately. Parents pay me every half term. 99% of parents pay up on time and without a reminder. I have one parent who is always late- up to 4 weeks late.
She ignores my reminder letters and avoids collecting her son- they live 200 yards down the road.

I don't want to create bad feeling, as we live ina small village and I get a lot of pupils by word of mouth. However, I need the money frankly! If she has a problem paying, I am happy for her to pay weekly, but am not going to suggest this as I don't think money is an issue- I think it is a controlling almost passive/aggressive problem she has.

If she ignores my reminder letters again this term and payment is late by more than 2 lessons, I feel like writing to say that I cannot offer lessons "on credit" and that they are postponed until she pays.

you are all mums- what's your take and have you any other suggestions?

I really don't want a falling out but I fear she is taking the piss- when you work from home as I do, some families think it is pin-money- it's not- I need the money and I am doing this instead of working in a school, I run it as a business and pay my tax etc!

newforold Thu 18-Sep-08 10:14:09

I would postpone the lessons. You are running a business not a community service. And ignoring your requests for payment is plain rude.
If she had come to you and discussed money issues or similar then you could have given her the choice to work out a payment plan.

Gettingagrip Thu 18-Sep-08 10:23:09

You need an official looking form that sets out your terms.

When you send bills in the future you must set out what will happen if , say, payment is late by two weeks, or whatever ....

Then, when payment is delayed you need another official looking form that goes by post, telling her that lessons are cancelled. Not postponed...cancelled.